Pages

Select the desired text size:
Extra small viewSmall view Normal viewLarge view Extra large view

Online Information


This page contains links to useful websites and online databases, organized by subject.  The databases require a login with a valid West Perth Public Library card.

Subjects



Atlas

Atlas of Canada
Telling Canada's story with maps.  From Natural Resources Canada.
http://atlas.nrcan.gc.ca
The Canadian County Atlas Digital Project
In Search of Your Canadian Past: The Canadian County Atlas Digital Project is a searchable database of atlases published between 1874 and 1881 in the Maritimes, Ontario and Quebec. This was a project of McGill University.
Canadian County Atlas Digital Project
Canadian Geographic Atlas
http://www.canadiangeographic.ca/atlas/
Countries of the World
Profiles of countries include information on geography, maps, history, population and more.
http://www.infoplease.com/countries.html
National Geographic
Try the MapMachine.
http://maps.nationalgeographic.com/map-machine

up

Canadiana

The Canadian Encyclopedia
Since its publication in book form in 1985, The Canadian Encyclopedia has provided the most comprehensive, objective and accurate source of information on Canada. Has been made available online by the Historica Foundation as a public service since 1999
The Canadian Encyclopedia
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
This is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library(requires West Perth Library card)

Canadian Reference Centre
This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international periodicals in full text, full-text reference books, thousands of full-text biographies and an image collection containing more than one million photos, maps and flags.  The collection includes images from Canadian Press.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library (requires West Perth Library Card)
up


Dictionaries

English Dictionary
dictionary.com

French/English Dictionary
Le grand dictionnaire

Visual Dictionary
When you know what something looks like but not what it’s called, or when you know the word but can’t picture the object.  
 
Visual Dictionary Online

up

Employment

The Centre for Employment & Learning
http://www.thecentreforemploymentandlearning.ca/
GCF Learn Free
Hundreds of lessons and tutorials on technology, including Microsoft Office and essential skills of math and reading. Completely free.http://www.gcflearnfree.org/
Job Search from Government of Canada
Working in Canada

Partners in Employment
http://partnersinemployment.on.ca/
up

Encyclopedias

The Canadian Encyclopedia
Since its publication in book form in 1985, The Canadian Encyclopedia has provided the most comprehensive, objective and accurate source of information on Canada. Has been made available online by the Historica Foundation as a public service since 1999
The Canadian Encyclopedia

up

Government

Ontario Government Directory
Directory of government staff
 
 INFO-GO

Service Canada
Service Canada provides Canadians with one-stop, personalized access to Government of Canada services and benefits.
Service Canada
Service Ontario
Information on services provided by Ontario ex. driver's license, health cards, vehicle license plate stickers and much more
Service Ontario

up

Health

Consumer Health Complete
This database is designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. It provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Users can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles, as well as within evidence-based reports, fact sheets & pamphlets, drug & herb information, alternative sources, images & diagrams, and video & animations.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library (requires West Perth Library card)


Teen Health and Wellness
Teen Health and Wellness provides teens and young adults, twelve through nineteen years of age, with curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases and conditions; drugs and alcohol; nutrition and fitness; mental and emotional health; sexuality and sexual health; bullying and internet safety; green living; family life, and more.
Teen Health and Wellness

up

Home and Consumer

Auto Repair Reference
This database contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis.  All of the content has been created  by ASE certified technicians.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library (requires West Perth Library card)
Canadian Consumer Handbook
Canadian Consumer Handbook offers information on consumer topics to help you build your buying skills.
Canadian Consumer Handbook
Ontario Driver's Handbook
Ontario Ministry of Transportation online version of the Official Driver's Handbook.
Ontario Driver's Handbook

up

Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

Canadian Reference Centre
This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international periodicals in full text, full-text reference books, thousands of full-text biographies and an image collection containing more than one million photos, maps and flags.  The collection includes images from Canadian Press.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library (requires West Perth Library Card)
MasterFILE Premier
This database contains full text for general reference magazines and publications that cover a wide-rand of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library (requires West Perth Library Card)

up


Reading  and Literature

Novelist
This database allows readers to search for their favourite authors or titles, and find others of similar interest.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library (requires West Perth Library card)
Novelist K-8
NoveList K-8, a fiction database, is designed especially for elementary and middle schools.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library(requires West Perth Library card)


up

Students

Primary Search
This database contains full text for popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.  Students can learn about a variety of topics, such as endangered species, famous musicians, fitness, space exploration and more.
Use in Library or online from outside of Library (requires West Perth Library card)

To top of page

Telephone and Postal Code Directories

Telephone Directory
This also includes reverse look-up and yellow pages.
Canada411
Infobel
International Directories  
Infobel
Postal Code Search
Canadian postal codes  
Canada Post Postal Codes

up

Thesaurus

Thesaurus.com
http://thesaurus.com/
Termium Plus
Users can find translations for general and technical words and expressions in practically all fields of human endeavour 
Termium Plus

up